Home > Art, Middle East > Language and Art

Language and Art

Since several articles have here recently been posted on Iran, mainly due to the taking then release of 15 British sailors, I’ve received a number of emails or been engaged in conversations relating to the country. Those who know at least a little about me have likely been encouraged to send me links because of my own background: I was born in Tehran.

I’m going to share three of the links provided me by others. One is a boggling project, a website designed to teach the user/student how to read, write, and speak Farsi (Persian). The other is a portal to a collection of artworks by Iranian artists. Lastly, is an article on Iranian typography and calligraphy. Neither of the first two sites is easily navigable, or initially attractive to look at. Both, however, are worth a little investigation.

Easy Persian, the language tutorial, has over 135 lessons interspersed with poems, popular stories, and myth. The lessons are easy to follow, carefully paced, and inspiring or entertaining breaks are provided between some lessons. This site is helping me relearn how to read and write in Farsi. I do have the added advantage of a collection of old children’s text books from my very early childhood to help along the way.

Qoqnoos, the artists’ online collections, is at first an eye-sore. The homepage made me cringe. I admit that I’ve yet to extensively explore this site, but, the “paintings” section at least has some very beautiful art.

Pingmag, an online magazine of graphic design out of Tokyo, has an article titled Iranian Typography Now. It’s a good read for those interested in learning a little about the alphabet, the history of calligraphy in Iran, and view examples of contemporary graphic design.

Thank you to everyone for your links, ideas, comments, and suggestions.

Categories: Art, Middle East
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

