Home > Art > A Handful of Mud

A Handful of Mud

A Handful of Mud

by Roya Hakkakian (translated from Farsi)

A handful of mud
a hundred tear drops
three rubies
          my life’s secrets.
When I was molten
there were no molds
whose hold would make me beautiful

Nor was there a statue
to emulate

So then, with two trembling hands
I pounded a hammer on my own shape

I fell apart
let out a deep sigh
and recreated myself.

Categories: Art
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

